July 25, 2017

Bengals Trim Roster to 53

The Bengals have announced the cuts/roster moves necessary to get down to the 53 man limit as required by 9:00 PM EDT today.  Here the are:

Waived:  DT Nick Hayden, DT Vaughn Meatoga,  CB T.J. Heath, RB Boom Herron, OG Otis Hudson, LB Grant Hunter, LB Emmanuel Lamur, DE Micah Johnson, CB Chris Lewis-Harris, T Matthew O’Donnell, QB Zac Robinson, OG Reggie Stephens, LB Roddrick Muckelroy, RB Jourdan Brooks, TE Colin Cochart, LS/TE Bryce Davis, FB James Develin, DE DeQuin Evans, and WR Vidal Hazelton.

Reserved/PUP:  DT Pat Sims (will miss the first 6 weeks)

Reserved/Suspended:  LB Dontay Moch (suspended for the first four games for testing positive for a banned substance)

Reserved/Injured:  S Tony Dye


  • The Bengals are currently carrying seven wide receivers:  A.J. Green, Brandon Tate, Armon Binns, Andrew Hawkins, Mohammed Sanu, Marvin Jones, and Ryan Whalen.  It was expected that they would only keep six.
  • No move was made on C Kyle Cook, likely indicating that the team will place him on injured reserve after September 4, allowing them to bring him back after 6 weeks thanks to new rules adopted this week.
  • Roddrick Muckelroy’s cut is a bit of a surprise, and means the team is going with UDFA Vontaze Burfict as back-up middle linebacker
  • The team chose to carry 3 tight ends, with veteran Donald Lee staving off Colin Cochart for the third spot

More moves are likely as the waiver process completes.  Stay with Whodeyfans.com for the latest!